St Martin’s Catholic Primary School accepts children between the ages of 4 and 11 years.
Our Nursery Tiny Steps accepts children from 2 years.

The curriculum is divided into Key Stages of learning.

Early Years Foundation Stage 2-5 year olds Nursery & Reception classes
Keystage 1   5- 7 year olds  Year 1 and Year 2
Keystage 2   7-11 year olds Year 3, Year 4, Year 5 & Year 6

Each Stage of a child's development and education at St. Martin’s is carefully planned for, following the National Curriculum.

At the Early Years Foundation Stage, the school follows the guidance Development Matters.

The framework sets out the three prime areas of learning that underpin everything in the early years:

• communication and language

• physical development

• personal, social and emotional development

The four specific areas help children to strengthen and apply the prime areas:

• literacy

• mathematics

• understanding the world

• expressive arts and design

At Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2, the children follow programmes of study from the National Curriculum, which cover the core subjects of English, Maths, and Science, together with the foundation subjects of Computing, Design Technology, Art, History, Geography, Music, PE and Languages at KS2.

All children at St. Martin's follow the ‘The Way the Truth and the Life’ Religious programme.

The school follows the RSHE scheme from ten:ten resources 'Life to the Full' 


Other pages